Dual study program in viticulture & Oenology

Study Viticulture and Oenology
Contents

"You can only learn to make wine by making wine!" This is an old winemaker's saying, which is why our dual study program in viticulture and oenology closely combines theory and practice. Dual study at means in concrete terms: you can complete two degrees within four years. On the one hand, you complete a full winemaking apprenticeship in a cooperating company with an examination at the Rhineland-Palatinate Chamber of Agriculture. On the other hand, students obtain a recognized university degree with a Bachelor of Science. 

Viticulture
Plant physiology
Phytomedicine
Oenology
Wine analysis
Microbiology
BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
marketing

What our students say

4 steps to a dual study program in viticulture and oenology

The admission requirement for the Viticulture and Oenology course is a certificate of higher education entrance qualification, entrance qualification for universities of applied sciences or a professional qualification recognized as equivalent.  

There is no Numerus Clausus .

If your Abitur certificate is not yet available, you can enclose the last (half-year) certificate of your school education with your application in order to obtain provisional admission for the prosemester. The final certificate must be submitted after receipt.

Studying without a (Fach-)Abitur

In Rhineland-Palatinate, it is possible under certain conditions to study with a vocational qualification ("Studying without Abitur").

master craftsman or comparable advanced training qualifications offer you a general university entrance qualification. Before enrolling, you should arrange a consultation with our Student Administration Office.

Other professionally qualified persons receive a subject-specific university entrance qualification under the following conditions:

  • Completed vocational training with an overall grade point average of at least 2.5
  • Counseling interview before enrollment

In the dual study program in Viticulture and Enology, vocational training is closely interlinked with the study program. Practical phases in the training company alternate with phases on campus. For this reason, it is not possible to complete a dual study program without a training contract with a winery. You should therefore look for a training place in good time. If you have not yet found a winegrowing company for your apprenticeship, then take a look at our training exchange Dual Match . There you will find more than 350 training companies throughout Germany. You can then register as an applicant and be found more quickly by the companies.

If you have already trained as a winemaker, you can also apply directly for the degree course Viticulture & Enology without integrated training and with a shorter duration of study.

The training company sends the originals of the training contract to the responsible authority for approval, depending on the federal state, e.g. to the Chamber of Agriculture or to Regierungspräsidium.

The application documents include:

  • Completed and signed online application form 
  • Copy of the training contract 
  • Curriculum vitae (please include signature)
  • Officially certified school leaving certificate
  • For students without a high school diploma: Proof of previous training (vocational school certificate and examination certificate as well as proof of 2 years of employment)
  • For previous studies: clearance certificate, certificate of exmatriculation and grade certificate
  • Proof of previous training or internships, if applicable
  • Proof of military service / federal voluntary service or similar, if applicable

This is how it works:

  • First fill out our online application form at and send it to us by email. Following your online application , you will receive a PDF with your completed form by e-mail. 
  • Print out the PDF and sign it.
  • Send it back to us by post with the rest of your application documents.

All application documents should  be received by our registrar's office by July 15 of the year in which you wish to begin your training at thelatest.

Excellent career prospects after studying viticulture & Oenology

 

The demand for graduate winemakers is currently so high that it cannot be met. The graduates of our viticulture & oenology degree program usually have a contract in their pocket before their final examination. They work as cellar masters, operations managers or field managers, in product development, market research, wine purchasing, vine breeding, in the laboratory, as sales managers, in administration or in research. In the free economy, wages are no longer based on educational qualifications, but on the performance of employees and are regulated by the success of the industry and the company. Who believes that good craftsmanship and good education are mutually exclusive? Who believes that a trained winemaker can no longer or no longer wants to work in the vineyard? The interaction of manual and mental skills is the key to success. That's why it pays to complete a dual degree in viticulture & oenology and be at the heart of practical work from the very beginning.

Together we are strong

 

The collaboration between three universities and the DLR Rheinpfalz opens up an exciting range of opportunities for studying Viticulture and Oenology. The expertise of the universities paired with the industry knowledge and infrastructure of DLR Rheinpfalz allow a smooth transfer of knowledge from university to practice and vice versa. The contractually agreed cooperation with over 500 winegrowing companies worldwide is one of the key strengths of the dual study program. The many cooperation partners not only ensure the dual nature of the Viticulture and Oenology degree course, but also the diversity of content. From the growing conditions to the grape varieties to the products - more than in other sectors, diversity is a decisive parameter for success in viticulture.

Study "Viticulture" & Oenology - Timetable

Duales Studium Weinbau & Oenologie

Studium Weinbau und Oenologie
Inhalte

"Wein machen lernt man nur beim Wein machen!" So lautet eine alte Winzerweisheit und deshalb sind bei unserem dualen Studium Weinbau und Oenologie Praxis und Theorie eng miteinander verzahnt. Dual studieren bedeutet bei uns ganz konkret: Man kann innerhalb von vier Jahren zwei Abschlüsse machen. Einerseits absolviert man eine vollständige Winzerausbildung in einem Kooperationsbetrieb mit Prüfung bei der Landwirtschaftskammer Rheinland-Pfalz. Andererseits erlangen die Studierenden mit dem "Bachelor of Science" einen anerkannten Hochschulabschluss. 

Weinbau
Pflanzenphysiologie
Phytomedizin

Oenologie
Weinanalytik
Mikrobiologie

BWL
Marketing

Das sagen unsere Studierenden

In 4 Schritten zum dualen Studium Weinbau und Oenologie

Zulassungsvoraussetzung für das Studium Weinbau und Oenologie ist ein Zeugnis der Hochschulreife, der Fachhochschulreife oder eine als gleichwertig anerkannte berufliche Qualifikation. 

Ein Numerus Clausus besteht nicht.

Wenn Dein Abiturzeugnis noch nicht vorliegt, kannst du deiner Bewerbung das letzte (Halbjahres-)Zeugnis deiner schulischen Ausbildung beilegen, um die vorläufige Zulassung für das Prosemester zu erhalten. Das Abschlusszeugnis muss nach Erhalt nachgereicht werden.

Studieren ohne (Fach-)Abitur

In Rheinland-Pfalz ist unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen ein Studium mit beruflicher Qualifikation ("Studieren ohne Abitur") möglich.

Ein Meister oder vergleichbare Fortbildungsabschlüsse bieten dir eine allgemeine Hochschulzugangsberechtigung. Vor der Einschreibung solltest du ein Beratungsgespräch mit unserem Studierendensekretariat vereinbaren.

Sonstige beruflich Qualifizierte erhalten eine fachgebundene Hochschulzugangsberechtigung unter folgenden Voraussetzungen:

  • abgeschlossene Berufsausbildung mit einem Gesamtnotenschnitt von mindestens 2,5
  • 2 Jahre Berufserfahrung
  • Beratungsgespräch vor der Einschreibung

 

Im dualen Studium Weinbau und Oenologie ist die Berufsausbildung mit dem Studium eng verzahnt. Es wechseln sich Praxisphasen im Ausbildungsbetrieb mit Phasen am Campus ab. Deshalb ist ein duales Studium ohne Ausbildungsvertrag bei einem Winzerbetrieb nicht möglich. Du solltest dich also rechtzeitig um einen Ausbildungsplatz kümmern. Wenn Du noch keinen Winzerbetrieb für deine Ausbildung gefunden hast, dann schau doch mal auf unserer Ausbildungsbörse Dual Match vorbei. Dort findest Du mehr als 350 Ausbildungsbetriebe in ganz Deutschland. Du kannst dich dann als Bewerber*in registrieren lassen und wirst von den Betrieben schneller gefunden.

Falls Du schon eine Winzerausbildung gemacht hast, kannst Du dich auch direkt für das Studium Weinbau & Oenologie ohne integrierte Ausbildung und mit verkürzter Studiendauer bewerben.

Die Originale des Ausbildungsvertrages schickt der Ausbildungsbetrieb zur Genehmigung an die zuständige Stelle je nach Bundesland z.B. zur Landwirtschaftskammer oder zum Regierungspräsidium.

Zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen gehören:

  • Ausgefülltes und unterschriebenes Online Bewerbungsformular 
  • Kopie des Ausbildungsvertrages 
  • Lebenslauf (bitte mit Unterschrift)
  • Amtlich beglaubigtes Schulabschlusszeugnis
  • Für Studierende ohne Abitur: Nachweis der vorangegangenen Ausbildung (Berufsschul- und Prüfungszeugnis sowie Nachweis der 2-jährigen Beschäftigung)
  • Bei vorangegangenem Studium: Unbedenklichkeits-, Exmatrikulations- und Notenbescheinigung
  • ggf. Nachweis zu vorangegangener Ausbildung oder Praktika
  • ggf. Nachweis zu Wehr- / Bundesfreiwilligendienst oä.

So geht es:

  • Fülle zunächst unser Online-Bewerbungsformular aus und sende es per Mail an uns. Du erhältst im Anschluss an deine Online-Bewerbung per E-Mail ein PDF mit deinem ausgefüllten Formular. 
  • Drucke das PDF aus und unterschreibe es.
  • Schicke es mit den restlichen Bewerbungsunterlagen per Post an uns zurück.

Alle Bewerbungsunterlagen sollen bis spätestens 15. Juli des Jahres, in dem du deine Ausbildung beginnen willst, in unserem Studierendensekretariat eingegangen sein.

Hervorragende Berufsaussichten nach dem Studium Weinbau & Oenologie

 

Die Nachfrage nach studierten Winzern ist aktuell so hoch, dass sie nicht gedeckt werden kann. Die Absolventen unseres Studiums Weinbau & Oenologie haben in der Regel noch vor ihrer letzten Prüfung einen Vertrag in der Tasche. Sie arbeiten als Kellermeister, Betriebsleiter oder Außenbetriebsleiter, in der Produktentwicklung, in der Marktforschung, im Weineinkauf, in der Rebenzüchtung, im Labor, als Vertriebsleiter, in der Verwaltung oder in der Forschung. In der freien Wirtschaft richtet sich das Lohnniveau nicht mehr nach dem Bildungsabschluss, sondern bemisst sich an der Leistung von Mitarbeitern und wird durch den Erfolg der Branche und des Betriebs reguliert. Wer glaubt, dass sich gute handwerkliche Fähigkeiten und gute Bildung gegenseitig ausschließen? Wer glaubt, dass ein studierter Winzer nicht mehr im Weinberg arbeiten kann oder will? Das Zusammenwirken aus Hand- und Hirnwerk ist der Schlüssel zum Erfolg. Deswegen lohnt es sich, das Studium Weinbau & Oenologie dual zu absolvieren und von Anfang an mitten in der Praxis zu sein.

 

Gemeinsam sind wir stark

 

Die Zusammenarbeit von drei Hochschulen mit dem DLR Rheinpfalz eröffnet für das Studium Weinbau und Oenologie ein spannendes Spektrum an Möglichkeiten. Die Expertise der Hochschulen gepaart mit den Branchenkenntnissen und der Infrastruktur des DLR Rheinpfalz erlauben einen reibungslosen Wissenstransfer von der Hochschule in die Praxis und umgekehrt. Die vertraglich fixierten Kooperationen mit weltweit über 500 Winzerbetrieben zählen zu den maßgeblichen Stärken des dualen Studiengangs. Über die vielen Kooperationspartner ist nicht nur der duale Charakter des Studiums Weinbau und Oenologie, sondern auch die inhaltliche Diversität sichergestellt. Von den Anbaubedingungen über die Rebsorten bis zu den Produkten - mehr als in anderen Branchen ist die Vielfalt ein entscheidender Parameter für den Erfolg im Weinbau.

 

Studium Weinbau & Oenologie - Zeitplan