Friedrich Gennheimer Prize

This page contains automatically translated content.

A prize for excellent theses

In memory of Friedrich Gennheimer, the Haniel Foundation, together with the Ludwigshafen University of Business and Society and the Wine Campus Neustadt, awards the Friedrich Gennheimer Prize for Marketing and the Friedrich Gennheimer Prize for Viticulture, Enology and Wine Marketing. The two prizes are endowed with 3,000 euros each and are awarded for outstanding theses in the respective subject areas.

Scope of funding: 2x 3000 Euro
Frequency: annually
Focus: Theses in the field of marketing

Donor: Haniel Foundation
Awarding institution: HWG Ludwigshafen
Call for entries: HWG Ludwigshafen and Wine Campus Neustadt
Wine Campus contact: Prof. Dr. Laura Ehm

About Friedrich Gennheimer

Friedrich Wilhelm Gennheimer was born in 1930 in Neustadt an der Weinstraße as part of the Gennheimer Brothers sparkling wine cellars. His professional career began with a degree in business administration. In 1970, he was offered a teaching position for general business administration at the vocational schools in Speyer. This teaching position was accompanied by an appointment as a civil servant for life. In 1971, he was transferred to the Staatliche Höhere Wirtschaftsfachschule in Ludwigshafen. There, Gennheimer accepted an employment contract, also for business administration. Just one year later, he was appointed "Professor at the University of Applied Sciences" and moved to the Ludwigshafen department of the Rhineland-Palatinate University of Applied Sciences. Gennheimer taught in the fields of marketing, human resources and training. From 1979 to 1987, he also headed the Ludwigshafen department as dean and was responsible for founding the Worms department (now an independent university) and the later East Asia Institute in Ludwigshafen. Gennheimer retired in February 1996, although in the two years that followed he continued to teach the subject of communication and contracting policy at the East Asia Institute in the Department of Business Administration II.

Friedrich Gennheimer died in 2022 and left a will, which is now being administered by Prof. Dr. Siegfried Englert. Englert was one of the co-founders of the Wine Campus Neustadt and a former professor at the East Asia Institute of the Ludwigshafen University of Business and Society. In memory of Gennheimer, the Friedrich Gennheimer Prize was established in spring 2023 together with the Haniel Foundation as the awarding institution. 

Photo: private

Foundation

Working with values

The Haniel Foundation was established in 1988 as a non-profit foundation under private law by Franz Haniel & Cie. GmbH. In line with the self-image of the Haniel family and the Haniel company, the Haniel Foundation pursues its objectives and its mission "Working with values" in two main areas:

  • Enkelfähiges Unternehmertum: The Haniel Foundation promotes young entrepreneurial talent. Future leaders in our society and economy. Talented people who drive change. With ideas. With attitude. With the cross-generational understanding of the values of the honorable businessman. We provide these talents with top scholarships. Access to our community. A broad spectrum of excellent opportunities.
     
  • Education as an opportunity: children and young people in a challenging environment deserve fair opportunities. Education opens doors. We undertake support initiatives. Effective programs. Joining forces with partners. And help young people graduate from school and enter the world of work. In responsibility for our home, the Ruhr region.


In trusting cooperation with the Ludwigshafen University of Business and Society

The Ludwigshafen University of Business and Society, together with the East Asia Institute and the Haniel Foundation, has enjoyed a stable cooperation for more than 25 years. The Haniel Foundation has supported German students' stays abroad in China and Japan through the annual awarding of the Haniel Prize at the East Asia Institute. In addition, the Haniel Foundation has sponsored over 70 Chinese scholarship holders in two consecutive scholarship programs who were pursuing a career in the management of an international company and studying at the Ludwigshafen University of Applied Sciences and the East Asia Institute.

It was not least due to this long-standing, trusting partnership that Professor Gennheimer decided to establish the newly created Friedrich Gennheimer Prize together with the Haniel Foundation at his former place of work.

Learn more

The 2023 award winners

The Friedrich Gennheimer Prize was awarded for the first time in October 2023. This year's prize was awarded for work that dealt with the sustainable transformation of our economy. The transformation of the entire economy towards greater sustainability is central to meeting the challenges of climate change and making an overall contribution to a "liveable" future. Ecological sustainability in particular is often at the center of companies' activities, but it also presents them with major challenges.

The Friedrich Gennheimer Prize for Marketing 2023 goes to Pauline Baumberger-Brand, MBA Wine, Sustainability & Sales. The 2023 Friedrich Gennheimer Prize for Viticulture, Enology and Wine Marketing goes to Martin Ladach from the German-French Master's degree course in Viticulture & Enology. The theses submitted were first reviewed in a two-stage process by the President of the HWG Ludwigshafen, Prof. Dr. Gunther Piller, and Prof. Dr. Laura Ehm from the Wine Campus Neustadt, and then finally selected by a panel of experts from the Haniel Foundation.

Master's thesis Pauline Baumberger-Brand: "Development of an interactive workshop format for sustainability development in the wine industry based on a multi-case analysis"

Baumberger-Brand works at her parents' winery in Mandel on the Nahe. Her main focus in the company is on marketing and sales of the wines. She has also achieved great success, including internationally, with her Glow Glow natural wines since 2021. She says of her studies at the Wine Campus: "The MBA program combines all the areas in which I want to expand and deepen my knowledge: Wine, sustainability and sales. The program at the Wine Campus Neustadt builds on my current knowledge, shows me new perspectives and teaches me strategic thinking and methods that enable me to rethink situations in the family business, check for sustainability and make well-founded decisions."

Abstract Baumberger-Brand

 

Master's thesis Martin Ladach: "Possibilities of mash fermentation for white wines from new robust grape varieties (PIWIs)"

He says the following about studying at the Wine Campus: "The numerous advantages and career prospects of a cross-border, intercultural course of study in the domain of viticulture led me to enrol on the FAVO Master's degree program."

Abstract Ladach Profile Ladach

 

Photos: private / Stephan Presser

Impressions of the 2023 award ceremony

The award ceremony for the Friedrich Gennheimer Prize took place on Friday, October 27, 2023 at 4 p.m. in the auditorium of the Rural Area Service Center (DLR) Rhenish Palatinate at Breitenweg 71 in Neustadt.

The group photo shows (from left to right): 85th Palatinate Wine Queen Charlotte Weihl, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Fischer, Prof. Dr. Laura Ehm, Martin Ladach, Pauline Baumberger-Brand, Frederikus Holtus (Haniel Foundation), Kurt Beck, former State Secretary Dr. Siegfried Englert, Prof. Dr. Gunther Piller, Prof. Dr. Marc Dreßler, Dr. Rupert Antes (Haniel Foundation)

Press release and further images

Application

Outstanding Master's theses from the Master's degree programs at the Ludwigshafen University of Business and Society and the Wine Campus Neustadt can be submitted. Practical work is just as welcome as theoretical papers.  Nominations are submitted via the supervisors of the Master's theses at the end of each winter semester. This is followed by a pre-selection of the best theses by the university departments involved and the president of the university. The Haniel Foundation submits the selected theses to external reviewers and makes the final selection of the award winners on the basis of expert opinions. The Haniel Foundation appoints the external reviewers and coordinates the review process. The two prizes are then awarded each fall in the name of Friedrich Gennheimer by the Ludwigshafen University of Business and Society.

Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis

Ein Preis für exzellente Abschlussarbeiten

Im Andenken Friedrich Gennheimers verleiht die Haniel Stiftung gemeinsam mit der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft Ludwigshafen und dem Weincampus Neustadt den Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis für Marketing sowie den Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis für Weinbau, Oenologie und Weinmarketing. Die beiden Preise sind mit jeweils 3.000 Euro dotiert und werden für herausragende Abschlussarbeiten in den jeweiligen Fachgebieten verliehen.

Förderungsumfang: 2x 3000 Euro
Turnus: jährlich
Ausrichtung: Abschlussarbeiten aus dem Bereich Marketing

Stifter: Haniel-Stiftung
Verleihende Institution: HWG Ludwigshafen
Ausschreibung: HWG Ludwigshafen und Weincampus Neustadt
Ansprechpartnerin Weincampus: Prof. Dr. Laura Ehm

Über Friedrich Gennheimer

Friedrich Wilhelm Gennheimer wurde 1930 in Neustadt an der Weinstraße als Teil der Gebrüder Gennheimer Sektkellerei zur Welt gebracht. Seine berufliche Laufbahn begann mit einem Studium, das er als Diplom-Kaufmann abschloß. Im Jahr 1970 bekam er einen Lehrauftrag für Allgemeine Betriebswirtschaftslehre an den Berufsbildenden Schulen in Speyer. Dieser Lehrauftrag ging mit der Ernennung in ein Beamtenverhältnis auf Lebenszeit einher. 1971 folgte die Versetzung an die Staatliche Höhere Wirtschaftsfachschule in Ludwigshafen. Dort nahm Gennheimer einen Beschäftigungsauftrag, ebenfalls für Betriebswirtschaftslehre, an. Bereits ein Jahr später folgte die Ernennung zum „Professor an der Fachhochschule“ und der Wechsel zur Fachhochschule des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz in der Abteilung Ludwigshafen. Gennheimer lehrte in den Fachrichtungen Marketing sowie Personal- und Ausbildungswesen. In den Jahren 1979 bis 1987 leitete er zudem als Dekan die Abteilung Ludwigshafen und war in diesem Zeitraum für die Gründung der Abteilung Worms (heute eine eigenständige Hochschule) sowie des späteren Ostasieninstitutes in Ludwigshafen verantwortlich. Im Februar 1996 ging Gennheimer in den Ruhestand, wobei er in den zwei darauffolgenden Jahren noch als Dozent das Fach Kommunikations- und Kontrahierungspolitik am Ostasieninstitut im Fachbereich Betriebswirtschaft II unterrichtete.

2022 verstarb Friedrich Gennheimer und hinterließ ein Testament, das nun durch Herrn Prof. Dr. Siegfried Englert verwaltet wird. Englert ist einer der Mitbegründer des Weincampus Neustadt und ehemaliger Professor am Ostasieninstitut der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft Ludwigshafen. Als Andenken an Gennheimer wurde im Frühjahr 2023 der Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis gemeinsam mit der Haniel Stiftung als verleihender Institution ins Leben gerufen. 

Foto: privat

Stiftung

Mit Werten wirken

Die Haniel Stiftung wurde 1988 als gemeinnützige Stiftung privaten Rechts von der Franz Haniel & Cie. GmbH gegründet. Gemäß dem Selbstverständnis der Haniel-Familie und des Unternehmens Haniel verfolgt die Haniel Stiftung ihre Ziele und ihre Mission „Mit Werten wirken“ in zwei Schwerpunkten:

  • Enkelfähiges Unternehmertum: Die Haniel Stiftung fördert junge unternehmerische Talente. Künftige Leader in unserer Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Begabte, die den Wandel treiben. Mit Ideen. Mit Haltung. Mit dem generationsübergreifenden Werteverständnis des ehrbaren Kaufmanns. Diesen Talenten ermöglichen wir Spitzenstipendien. Zugänge zu unserer Community. Ein breites Spektrum an exzellenten Möglichkeiten.
     
  • Bildung als Chance: Kinder und Jugendliche in einem herausfordernden Umfeld verdienen gerechte Chancen. Bildung öffnet Türen. Wir unternehmen Förderinitiativen. Wirksame Programme. Bündeln die Kräfte mit Partnern. Und bringen junge Menschen so zum Schulabschluss und in den Beruf. In Verantwortung für unsere Heimat, das Ruhrgebiet.


In vertrauensvoller Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft Ludwigshafen

Die Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft Ludwigshafen bildet gemeinsam mit dem Ostasieninstitut und der Haniel Stiftung seit mehr als 25 Jahren eine stabile Kooperation. Die Haniel Stiftung hat durch die jährliche Verleihung des Haniel-Preises am Ostasieninstitut die Auslandsaufenthalte deutscher Studierender in China und Japan unterstützt. Zusätzlich förderte die Haniel Stiftung in zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Stipendienprogrammen über 70 chinesische Stipendiaten, die eine berufliche Laufbahn im Management eines international tätigen Unternehmens anstrebten und an der Hochschule Ludwigshafen sowie am Ostasieninstitut studierten.

Nicht zuletzt aufgrund dieser langjährigen, vertrauensvollen Partnerschaft entstand bei Herrn Professor Gennheimer der Wunsch, den neu ins Leben gerufenen Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis gemeinsam mit der Haniel Stiftung an seiner ehemaligen Wirkungsstätte zu etablieren.

Mehr erfahren

Die Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger 2023

Im Oktober 2023 wurde der Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis erstmalig verliehen. Ausgezeichnet wurden in diesem Jahr Arbeiten, die sich mit der nachhaltigen Transformation unserer Wirtschaft beschäftigt haben. Die Transformation der gesamten Wirtschaft hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit ist zentral, um den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels zu begegnen und insgesamt eine Beitrag zu einer „lebenswerten“ Zukunft zu leisten. Gerade die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit steht hier oft im Zentrum der Aktivitäten von Unternehmen, stellt diese aber auch vor große Herausforderungen.

Den Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis für Marketing 2023 erhält Pauline Baumberger-Brand, Studiengang MBA Wine, Sustainability & Sales. Den Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preis für Weinbau, Oenologie und Weinmarketing 2023 erhält Martin Ladach aus dem deutsch-französischen Masterstudiengang Weinbau & Oenologie. Die eingereichten Arbeiten wurden in einem zweistufigen Verfahren zunächst durch den Präsidenten der HWG Ludwigshafen, Herrn Prof. Dr. Gunther Piller sowie Prof. Dr. Laura Ehm vom Weincampus Neustadt gesichtet und dann durch ein Fachgremium der Haniel Stiftung final ausgewählt.

Masterthesis Pauline Baumberger-Brand: “Development of an interactive workshop format for sustainability development in the wine industry based on a multi-case analysis “

Baumberger-Brand arbeitet im elterlichen Weingut in Mandel an der Nahe. Ihre Schwerpunkte im Unternehmen liegen in der Vermarktung und im Vertrieb der Weine. Zudem konnte sie ab 2021 großen, auch internationalen, Erfolg mit ihren Naturweinen Glow Glow erreichen. Über das Studium am Weincampus sagt sie: „Das MBA-Programm vereint all die Schwerpunkte, in denen ich mein Wissen erweitern und vertiefen möchte: Wein, Nachhaltigkeit und Vertrieb. Das Studium am Weincampus in Neustadt setzt an meinem jetzigen Wissensstand an, zeigt mir neue Perspektiven auf und vermittelt mir strategisches Denken und Methoden, die es mir ermöglichen, Situationen im Familienbetrieb neu zu denken, auf Nachhaltigkeit zu prüfen und fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen.“

Abstract Baumberger-Brand

 

Masterthesis Martin Ladach: “Möglichkeiten der Maischegärung bei Weissweinen aus neuen robusten Rebsorten (PIWIs)“

Über das Studium am Weincampus sagt er: "Die zahlreichen Vorteile und beruflichen Aussichten eines grenzüberschreitenden, interkulturellen Studiums in der Domäne des Weinbaus haben mich dazu bewegt, den FAVO-Masterstudiengang zu belegen."

Abstract Ladach Steckbrief Ladach

 

Fotos: privat / Stephan Presser

Impressionen der Preisverleihung 2023

Die Preisverleihung des Friedrich-Gennheimer-Preises fand am Freitag, 27. Oktober 2023 um 16.00 Uhr in der Aula des DLR Rheinpfalz im Breitenweg 71 in Neustadt statt.

Das Gruppenfoto zeigt (von links nach rechts): 85. Pfälzische Weinkönigin Charlotte Weihl, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Fischer, Prof. Dr. Laura Ehm, Martin Ladach, Pauline Baumberger-Brand, Frederikus Holtus (Haniel Stiftung), Kurt Beck, Staatssekretär a. D. Dr. Siegfried Englert, Prof. Dr. Gunther Piller, Prof. Dr. Marc Dreßler, Dr. Rupert Antes (Haniel Stiftung)

Pressemitteilung und weiteres Bildmaterial

Bewerbung

Herausragende Master-Arbeiten aus den Master-Studiengängen der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft Ludwigshafen und des Weincampus Neustadt können eingereicht werden. Praxisbezogene Arbeiten sind ebenso willkommen wie theoretische Ausarbeitungen.  Nominierungen werden über die Betreuer*innen der Master-Arbeiten zum Ende jedes Wintersemesters eingereicht. Es folgt eine Vorselektion der besten Arbeiten durch die beteiligten Fachbereiche der Hochschule und den Präsidenten der Hochschule. Die Haniel Stiftung legt die selektierten Arbeiten externen Gutachter*innen vor und nimmt die finale Auswahl der Preisträger*innen auf Basis von Expertengutachten vor. Die Haniel Stiftung bestimmt die externen Gutachter*innen und koordiniert den Begutachtungsprozess. Im Anschluss werden im Herbst jeden Jahres die beiden Preise im Namen Friedrich Gennheimers durch die Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft Ludwigshafen verliehen.